Dr. Michael Monahan Receives President's Distinguished Faculty Award

Sep 8, 2023 12:00 AM

Dr. Michael Monahan, professor and chair of Frostburg State University’s Department of Management, has been selected as the 2023 recipient of the President’s Distinguished Faculty Award. This award recognizes a faculty member who has provided exceptional service to the University and has advanced its mission, goals and strategic planning initiatives.

“While Michael’s performance in each of the three areas of teaching, research and service has continuously been one of the most highly rated in the College, his record of service – at all levels of this institution and beyond – is far-reaching and eminently deserving of the recognition conferred by this award,” said Dr. Sudhir Singh, dean, College of Business, Engineering and Computational and Mathematical Sciences (CBECMS).

Monahan’s professionalism and dedication to FSU as the chair of the management department have been invaluable and he is widely respected throughout the campus community. He is also actively engaged as a member of the CBECMS Executive Council.

Monahan’s notable accomplishments, initiatives and contributions to the University are vast and focus on student success and regional engagement. He has facilitated several curricular improvements to the department’s course offerings, including online classes to support working adults, and he serves as the co-advisor for the Society for the Advancement of Management Club. He has also had two articles published in peer-reviewed journals and had the opportunity to present a manuscript at a regional conference.

In addition, Monahan continues to make contributions to the Employee Development and Leadership Series as a workshop presenter, and he has invested countless hours serving as faculty athletic representative of the Athletic Advisory Council.

Dr. Monahan recieving Award from Dr. Nowaczyk