Faculty

2015 Department Photo. Back row: Frank Fleckenstein, Cynthia Zirlott, Skott Brill, Edward Chapman, and Michael Mathias. Front row: Jean-Marie Makang, Shoshana Brassfield, and Jo Ann Circosta.


Shoshana R. Brassfield
H. Skott Brill
Dan Filer
Michael B. Mathias
Jean-Marie Makang
Jorn Bramann, Emeritus
Angelo Bucchino, Emeritus
Joy Kroeger-Mappes, Emeritus
Thomas A. Mappes, Emeritus


 

Dr. Shoshana R. Brassfield

Shoshana Brassfield

Associate Professor

Office:
Dunkle Hall 117C
Telephone:
301.687.7391
Email:
srbrassfield@frostburg.edu

Degrees: B.A., University of California Los Angeles; Ph.D., University of California Berkeley

Teaching Interest: Ethics, History of Modern Philosophy, Philosophy and Women, Philosophy of Science, Skepticism and the Search for Truth

 


 

Dr. H. Skott Brill

H. Skott Brill

Associate Professor

Office:
Dunkle Hall 111
Telephone:
301.687.4249
Email:
sbrill@frostburg.edu

Degrees: B.A., Western Michigan University; M.A., Ph.D., Michigan State University

Teaching Interest: Metaphysics, Meaning of Life Studies, Biomedical Ethics, Environmental Philosophy, Philosophy and Food, Logic

 


 

Dr. Dan Filer

Letcurer

Office:
Dunkle Hall 135
Telephone:
301.687.3007
Email:
dmfiler@frostburg.edu

Degrees: Ed.D. West Virginia University

Courses: PHIL 102: Contemporary Ethical Problems

 


 

Dr. Michael B. Mathias

Michael Mathias

Associate Professor

Office:
Dunkle Hall 111
Telephone:
301.687.3094
Email:
mbmathias@frostburg.edu

Degrees: B.A., West Virginia University; M.A., Ph.D., University of Rochester

Teaching Interest: Philosophy of Law, Social Philosophy, Political Philosophy, Ethical Theory, Modern Philosophy

 


 

Dr. Jean-Marie Makang

Jean-Marie Makang

Professor

Office:
Dunkle Hall 115
Telephone:
301.687.3089
Email:
jmakang@frostburg.edu

Degrees: M.A., Hekima College, Nairobi, Kenya; Ph.D., Boston College

Teaching Interest: Existentialism, Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Religion, Asian and African Philosophy, History of Philosophy: Ancient and Medieval, African Diaspora

 


 

Dr. Jorn Bramann

Professor Emeritus

Email: jkbramann@frostburg.edu

Degrees: Ph.D.

Teaching Interest: Wittgenstein, Marxism, Philosophy and Art, and Philosophy and Poetry

 


 

Dr. Angelo Bucchino

Professor Emeritus

Email: bucchi2@comcast.net

Degrees: Ph.D.

Teaching Interest: Philosophy of Religion

 


 

Dr. Joy Kroeger-Mappes

Associate Professor Emeritus

Email: jkroeger@frostburg.edu

Degrees: B.S., DePaul University; M.A., Ph.D., Georgetown University

Teaching Interest: Social Philosophy, Environmental Ethics, Feminist Philosophy, Women's Studies

 


 

Dr. Thomas A. Mappes

Professor Emeritus

Email: tmappes@frostburg.edu

Degrees: B.S., University of Dayton; Ph.D., Georgetown University

Teaching Interest: Ethics, Biomedical Ethics, Philosophy of Law, History of Modern Philosophy