Pinnacle Award

The Pinnacle Award recognizes those who have made significant contributions of Time, Talent or Treasure in support of the educational mission of Frostburg State University through the FSU Foundation.


Quincy Crawford '65
2022 Recipient
Quincy Crawford
During the time Quincy served on the FSU Foundation Board, he was chair of the Staking Our Claim Campaign Steering Committee, vice president, and then president. He also leant his time to the FSU College of Business Advisory Board and the University System of Maryland Foundation Board. He and his wife, Genie '67, endowed the Quincy Crawford Men's Basketball Scholarship and the Quincy and Eugenia Crawford Scholarship. They have also supported many other funds including the Dr. Richard C. Sloop Student Leadership Fund. Quincy was named the College of Business Alumnus of the Year (2004) and received the FSU Alumni Achievement Award (2009).


Mary E. Clapsaddle '83
2021 Recipient
Mary Clapsaddle
Mary served for 14 years on the FSU Foundation Board. During that time, she was a member of the Campaign Committee for Staking Our Claim and then served as vice president and president. Mary has worked tirelessly over the years promoting FSU, most recently as FSU’s director of government relations. She and her husband, Chad, are members of the Old Main Society and have very generously supported numerous funds including the FSU Foundation Presidential Merit Endowed Scholarship. Mary also received the Alumni Circle of Excellence Award (2008), Service to Alma Mater Award (2015), and Alumni Achievement Award (2015).


Carl "Bucky" Belt, Jr.
2015 Recipient
Carl Belt
A leader for nearly 24 years on the FSU Foundation Board of Directors, Carl Belt has proven his unwavering commitment, investing time, and providing services toward the good of the University. Carl and his wife, Jane, have supported students through generous gifts to athletics, performing arts, and the Annual Fund. It is the service to FSU and its students, his business leadership and his dedication to the community that have inspired the FSU Foundation to award him its highest honor.


Sam Griffith
2014 Recipient
Sam Griffith
Sam Griffith has made our University his personal cause, and he gives selflessly to ensure Frostburg and all of its students succeed. First as a member, and then as president of the FSU Foundation Board of Directors, Sam led the Staking Our Claim Campaign to great success, exceeding the campaign's fundraising goal by more than 10 percent. In recognition of his advocacy and service to the University, the Alumni Association honored Sam in 2010 as an honorary Alumnus.


Gladys Wensel Faherty '55
2011 Recipient
Gladys Faherty
Gladys has been active for so many years with both the Alumni Association and the FSU Foundation Boards that it is impossible to imagine where these organizations would be without her energy and leadership. The opportunities that higher education afforded Gladys are so important that she is committed to providing similar opportunities for students through support of the Wensel-Faherty Scholarship, Annual Fund, Lane University Center, and Catherine R. Gira Center for Communications and Information Technology.


Ken Kennedy M'72
2010 Recipient
Kennedy Kenneth
Ken Kennedy has provided the FSU Foundation with expert guidance and significant time over the years, serving as its treasurer from 1989 through 2011 and as a member of the Board of Directors for nearly a quarter-century. His consistent, unrestricted contributions to the Annual Fund support the University’s areas of greatest need. Following the passing of his spouse in 2014, Ken established the Enid P. Kennedy Endowed Nursing Scholarship in her memory.


Leonard C. Schwab
2009 Recipient
Schwab Leonard
One of the longest-serving members of the FSU Foundation Board of Directors and a longtime leader on the Foundation's Executive Board, Leonard Schwab has given of his counsel and spirit for decades and through many important transitions. Leonard and his wife, Jane, established the Leonard and Jane Schwab Theatre and Speech Scholarship in 1996.


Walter N. Hedrick
2004 Recipient
Hedrick Walter
Through their generous contributions, Walter Hedrick '41 and his wife, Lois '39, established the Hedrick Endowments for Teacher Excellence and Business Excellence for financially disadvantaged students. Walter was honored in 1995 with the FSU Alumni Achievement Award, the Alumni Association's highest honor.


A.P. Boxley, III
1997 Recipient
Boxley AP
Al Boxley was a member of the FSU Foundation Board of Directors through the 1980's and the 1990's and served as president in 1991-92. He has been generous to FSU through his business and personally. He and his wife created the Al and Dale Boxley Faculty Research Award to provide opportunities for faculty and students to present their research at conferences. Most recently, he established the A. P. Boxley, III Presidential Merit Scholarship.


Lillian M. Wellner
1994 Recipient
Wellner Lillian
Lillian Wellner served Frostburg State for 32 years as a faculty member and a registrar and was active in all facets of the campus. After retirement, she established the Lillian Wellner Distinguished Lecture Series and the Elisabeth Hitchins Memorial Scholarship, one of the Foundation's longest-standing scholarships. She continued her interest in the development of FSU and served on the FSU Scholarship Committee.


Ralph Race
1993 Recipient
Ralph Race
Ralph Race was one of the earliest members of the FSU Foundation Board of Directors, serving for nearly 25 years, including as treasurer from 1978 to 1989. In memory of his wife, he established the Martha T. Race and Ralph M. Race Western History Lecture and Scholarship Funds. He was among the local citizens who joined the fight against the closure of the institution in the 1940's.