2019 Faculty Achievement Award Winners to Be Honored at FSU Convocation

May 14, 2019 10:15 AM

The recipients of the 2019 Faculty Achievement Awards will be honored at the Frostburg State University Honors Convocation and Reception on Wednesday, May 22, from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m., in the Pealer Recital Hall of FSU’s Woodward D. Pealer Performing Arts Center.

This year’s recipients are Andy Duncan, Department of English and Foreign Languages, for academic accomplishment; Dr. Heather Hurst, Department of Educational Professions, for teaching; and Dr. Michael Monahan, Department of Management, for university and community service.

In addition to the faculty award, outstanding senior students and graduates will be honored at the convocation by their departments for academic excellence and leadership.

Duncan is a Nebula Award-winning writer who embodies the award for academic achievement. Duncan’s seventh collection of stories, “An Agent of Utopia,” was published in November 2018. The book’s title story is also nominated for another Nebula Award. Colleagues say Duncan’s writing provides exceptional contributions to the discipline, saying that he brings an unmistakable voice, style and perspective to creative writing. Duncan discussed his works and writing career for several podcasts, had full-length interviews in several magazines and carries an international reputation for excellence. He will also, for the third time, lead a week of the prestigious Clarion writing workshop at the University of California San Diego.

In her four years at FSU, Hurst has reached great heights in her excellence in teaching, having taught all levels of students from undergraduate to doctoral level. She has created or redesigned eight courses, including four at the doctoral level, and has taught in all modalities. Hurst has been extremely creative in ways of reaching her students through feedback. In her online teaching, she has focused on maintaining social presence by creating multiple ways for students to interact with each other. Her students have praised her teaching abilities, her knowledge of the subject matter and her willingness to mentor them as they grow personally and professionally. Hurst has also taken on additional roles as program coordinator for the Doctor of Education in Educational Leadership program.

Monahan is recognized for his outstanding and extensive service to FSU, the community and his profession. He is the long-time chair of the Department of Management, has served as chair of the College of Business dean search and is a member of the provost search committees. Monahan has served as the faculty advisor to the Society for Advancement of Management (SAM) since 2005, taking a group of students each year to compete at the SAM’s International Conference. He has also served on numerous University committees. In the community, Monahan serves as a secretary of the Foundation for Frostburg organization and is co-author of a key report on the $15 minimum wage for the Maryland legislature. Beyond his service to FSU and the community, he provides service to his profession by serving on multiple management-focused committees.

The Honors Convocation is free and open to the public. For more information, contact the FSU Office of the Provost at 301-687-4211.

Situated in the mountains of Allegany County, Frostburg State University is one of the 12 institutions of the University System of Maryland. FSU is a comprehensive, residential regional university and serves as an educational and cultural center for Western Maryland. For more information, visit the Frostburg State web site or  the FSU Facebook page. Follow FSU on Twitter @frostburgstate.

FSU is committed to making all of its programs, services and activities accessible to persons with disabilities. To request accommodations through the ADA Compliance Office, call 301-687-4102 or use a Voice Relay Operator at 1-800-735-2258.