Frostburg State University Maryland Accelerates Announces Distinguished Board

Jan 20, 2021 11:25 AM

Maryland Accerates Program logoFrostburg State University’s Maryland Accelerates program, a partnership designed to provide the state with more STEM teachers and enhance career paths for established teachers, has established a distinguished executive advisory board to guide its development and progress as the program begins to accept candidates.

The program, funded by a $4 million federal grant and developed in partnership with Frederick and Garrett County public schools, will provide residency and stipend opportunities for college graduates seeking an FSU Master of Arts in Teaching, especially in the sciences, mathematics and computer science – called STEM fields, as well as provide a career path for established teachers to mentor new educators.

The board members reflect a range of backgrounds in public education, higher education and in STEM fields.

It is chaired by FSU President Ronald Nowaczyk, who has led FSU since 2016; he was previously provost of Clarion University, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences at the University of New Haven, East Carolina University’s vice chancellor for Economic and Community Development and previously chair of its Department of Psychology.

Other board members include:

  • Richard “Ricky” Arnold II, NASA astronaut and the director of STEM Engagement for the University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science. A global educator with an advanced professional certificate from the Maryland State Department of Education, he has taught science and mathematics in five countries, and as an astronaut, spent 209 days in space on the International Space Station.
  • Dr. James D. Fielder, Jr., secretary of Higher Education, Maryland Higher Education Commission, a member of Gov. Larry Hogan’s Cabinet. He has served Maryland governors as secretary of Appointments; secretary of Labor, Licensing and Regulation; deputy and acting secretary for Business and Economic Development; assistant secretary for Department of Economic and Employment Development.
  • Maryland State Sen. George Edwards, who serves on the Budget and Taxation Committee, among numerous committee assignments including the Spending Affordability Committee, Senate chair of the Joint Legislative Ethics Committee and Senate co-chair of the Protocol Committee. He has served in the General Assembly since 1983.
  • Dr. Joann A. Boughman, University System of Maryland (USM) senior vice chancellor for Academic and Student Affairs and a board-certified medical geneticist. Boughman is the senior staff person for academic and student life issues for the 12 USM institutions.
  • Dr. Nancy S. Shapiro, USM associate vice chancellor for Education and Outreach and special assistant to the Chancellor for P-20 Education. She leads system-wide partnerships with Maryland public schools, supporting college and career readiness and promoting teacher recruitment, retention, quality, quantity and diversity.
  • Dr. Jennifer Judkins, Maryland State Department of Education (MSDE) assistant state superintendent for the Division of Assessment, Accountability and Information Technology. She oversees the development of the new Maryland Comprehensive Assessment Program for assessments in mathematics, English language arts, science, social studies, alternate assessments, English proficiency and early learning.
  • Dr. Darla F. Strouse, MSDE executive director of Partnerships and Development. She develops state and regional corporate, community and government partnerships to support education in Maryland, directing programs such as the Maryland Teacher of the Year Program, Milken National Educator Awards and Maryland’s Blue Ribbon Schools Program.
  • Dr. Theresa R. Alban, superintendent of Frederick County Public Schools since 2011. Beginning her career as an elementary and special education teacher, she later worked in student assessment and program evaluation, as well as director of Shared Accountability. In the Howard County Public School System, she served as chief operating officer and executive director of Strategic Planning, Assessment and Program Evaluation.
  • Barbara L. Baker, superintendent of Garrett County Public Schools, has served the students of Garrett County Public Schools for the past 31 years. She began her career as a German instructor at Southern Middle School and has continued in a variety of roles, including elementary school teacher, principal, director and assistant superintendent of Educational Services.
  • Mary Clapsaddle, FSU director of Government Relations and former legislative analyst. She was also director of Policy Development for the Maryland Department of Business and Economic (now Commerce) assistant superintendent for Business Services for MSDE.

Ex officio members of the board are Albert A. Delia, FSU vice president for Regional Development and Engagement; Dr. Michael B. Mathias, FSU interim provost and professor of Philosophy; and Christine Miller, U.S. Department of Education senior program analyst.

The board held its first meeting virtually on Jan. 19. For more information about the Maryland Accelerates program, visit the Frostburg State University Maryland Accelerates site.

Situated in the mountains of Allegany County, Frostburg State University is one of the 12 institutions of the University System of Maryland. FSU is a comprehensive, residential regional university and serves as an educational and cultural center for Western Maryland. For more information, visit the FSU web site or the  Facebook site. Follow FSU on Twitter @frostburgstate.