Scholarships for Current Theatre Majors

Theatre students may apply for these in the spring semester of each academic year. Notice of application availability is posted on the Callboard, in the theatre office and e-mailed to Theatre students.

Please be sure to start the process early enough to complete all the requirements and submit your application by the deadline (March 1st of each year). Applicants are reviewed by the Theatre Faculty and ranked in order of preference for each scholarship.

  • Annual Fund Achievement Award
    The recipient is determined by the Chair of theatre program to benefit a student providing quality service and assistance to the Department of Theatre and Dance.
  • Gary D. Cook Professional Development in Theatre Fund
  • Alexandro J. Gutierrez Memorial Scholarship
    Criteria: Preference will be given to students who provide documented evidence of artistic endeavors or service to the department beyond expectations defined in the Theatre Department handbook.
  • Jennifer Leigh Johnson Theatre Scholarship
    Criteria: The recipient(s) must have an overall grade point average of at least 3.0 and demonstrated financial need.
  • Dr. Jack W. Vrieze Scholarship
  • Thelma Shockley Endowed Scholarship
    Criteria: 3.0 Grade Average, Demonstrated proficiency in the Performing Arts and academic performance.
  • Leonard & Jane Schwab Theatre and Speech Scholarship
    Criteria: Carry a cumulative FSU grade point average of 3.0. Demonstrated interest in theatre as shown by research, membership or active participation is also required. Demonstrated financial need and academic ability. Must be a sophomore or higher.
  • Dorothy Stone White Scholarship in Theatre
    Criteria: Overall FSU grade point average of 2.70, 3.25 grade point average in theater major. Completion of THEA 106 and six additional hours in theatre are required.

Visit the FSU Financial Aid website for complete information. The FSU scholarship application deadline is March 1 of each year.

Scholarship Booklet   Apply for FSU and Department Scholarships