FSU will have a delayed opening from the beginning of the day shift until 11 a.m. today, Thursday, January 26. In-person classes and activities will resume and all non-essential personnel should report to work at that time. Essential personnel should report to work as scheduled.

CLC Book Award

The Children's Literature Centre presented its first CLC Book Award in 2012. This annual award is given to a children's picture book which most embodies the attributes of: compassion, love, or courage. Our aim is to encourage and support an author/illustrator in the early years of their career, who has published in the United States within the past three years.

A nominating committee has been formed that includes staff members of the Children's Literature Centre, Education Department faculty members and practicing professionals. Publishers, authors and illustrators, along with the general public, may submit books for consideration. Titles must be submitted for consideration as soon as possible.

Submit nominations for the 2023 CLC Book Award

CLC Book Award Logo

  • Books will be chosen according to the following criteria
    1. Only picture books (of any genre) can be considered.
    2. The winning book will have literary/artistic merit.
    3. The winning book will inspire compassion, love, or courage in the children who read it.
    4. Only titles published in the three-year period before the submission date (October 31st in the year preceding the award) will be considered.
    5. Titles must currently be in print.
    6. Winning author/illustrator must reside in North America, in reasonable proximity, so that they may travel to the CLC Award Banquet to accept the award.
    7. Recipients may not receive the award two consecutive years.
    8. The book is aimed to support an author/illustrator in the early years of their career, which has published in the United States with no more than 3-5 published titles.
  • Prize

    The winning author/illustrator will receive $500.00 and an engraved crystal-glass commemorative, along with having all expenses paid for attending the Spring Festival. The winning author will be expected to discuss his/her work as it relates to our theme in a presentation and he/she must be available for autographing during the Book Award Celebration.


2022 CLC Book Award Winner

If You Miss Me
Jocelyn Li Langrand

If-You-Miss-Me-Cover-.jpeg Jocelyn-Langrand-Headshot.jpeg


Winners by Year