Other Notable Awards

*Bonus: During her time as a Frostburg student, Tony and Emmy winning actress Debra Monk served as part of the student staff that helped to select artists appearing on the arts series


NEA Jazz Masters Award

Regina Carter

Dr. Lonnie Smith

Herbie Hancock

Paquito D’Rivera

Jimmy Heath

Dave Brubeck

Louis Bellson

Art Farmer


Tony Award

The Acting Company

Christian Hoff

Geoffrey Holder

Dame Judith Anderson

Robert Spencer (nominee)

Maya Angelou (nominee)

Stephen Lynch (nominee)


Pulitzer Prize

James Reston (awarded twice)

W.D. Snodgrass

Neil Sheehan

Harrison Salisbury

Maya Angelou (nominee)


Academy Award

John Astin (nominee)

Ruby Dee (nominee)


Emmy Award

Ruby Dee

Dick Flavin

Jack Klugman

Annie Moses Band

Robert Bazell

Viveca Lindfors

Dailey & Vincent (nominee)

Dom Flemons (nominee)

Dr. Albert E. Burke (nominee)

Risa Binder (nominee)

Ossie Davis (nominee)

Robert Klein (nominee)

Maya Angelou (nominee)

Steve Landesberg (nominee)

George Carlin (nominee)


Golden Globe Award

Jack Klugman


MacArthur “Genius” Awards

Cécile McLorin Salvant

Regina Carter 

Jason Moran

Elizabeth Streb (Streb’s dance company performed in 2010)

Paul Taylor (Paul Taylor’s dance company performed in 1967 and 2011)


Peabody Award

Leonard Reiffel

Douglas Edwards

Robert Bazell


Doris Duke Artist Awards

Elizabeth Streb

Jason Moran

Stefon Harris (SFJAZZ Collective)

Regina Carter


Kennedy Center Honors

Ossie Davis and Ruby Dee  

Dave Brubeck

Paul Taylor (Paul Taylor’s dance company performed in 1967 and 2011)

Alvin Ailey (Alvin Ailey Repertory Ensemble performed in 1992, 1994 and 1996)

Count Basie (The Count Basie Orchestra performed in 2007)

Martha Graham (Graham’s dance company performed in 2007)


Bessie Awards

Rennie Harris

Paul Taylor

Miki Orihara (Martha Graham Dance Company)

Sylvia Waters (Ailey II)


National Endowment for the Arts National Heritage Fellowship

Brian Williams (Founder, Step Afrika!)

Liz Carroll

Ruby Dee

Jean Ritchie


Native American Music Awards: Lifetime Achievement Award

Bill Miller


Guggenheim Fellowship

Etienne Charles

Geoffrey Holder


U.S. Poet Laureate

Louis Untermeyer


Presidential Medal of Freedom

Benjamin Hooks

Maya Angelou

James Reston


National Medal of Arts

Maya Angelou


National Book Award

John Barth

Neil Sheehan


Mark Twain Prize

George Carlin

Facebook  Pinterest  Instagram  YouTube
Subscribe to our monthly newsletter to receive the latest news, updates and amazing offers delivered directly to your inbox.

Contact CES

University Box Office
Lane University Center 203
Monday-Friday 10AM-4PM